The Canon of the
Old & New
Council of Carthage (A.D. 419)

Canon 24. (Greek xxvii.)

That nothing be read in church besides the Canonical Scripture
Item, that besides the Canonical Scriptures nothing be read in church under the name of divine Scripture.

But the Canonical Scriptures are as follows:

•        Genesis.
•        Exodus.
•        Leviticus.
•        Numbers.
•        Deuteronomy.
•        Joshua the Son of Nun.
•        The Judges.
•        Ruth.
•        The Kings, iv. books.
•        The Chronicles, ij. books.
•        Job.
•        The Psalter.
•        The Five books of Solomon.
•        The Twelve Books of the Prophets.
•        Isaiah.
•        Jeremiah.
•        Ezechiel.
•        Daniel.
•        Tobit.
•        Judith.
•        Esther.
•        Ezra, ij. books.
•        Macchabees, ij. books.

The New Testament.

•        The Gospels, iv. books.
•        The Acts of the Apostles, j. book.
•        The Epistles of Paul, xiv.
•        The Epistles of Peter, the Apostle, ij.
•        The Epistles of John the Apostle, iij.
•        The Epistles of James the Apostle, j.
•        The Epistle of Jude the Apostle, j.
•        The Revelation of John, j. book.

Let this be sent to our brother and fellow bishop, Boniface, and to the other bishops of those parts, that they
may confirm this canon, for these are the things which we have received from our fathers to be read in church.

The "Damasine list", issued by Pope Damasus I at the
council of Rome (382 AD), is as follows:

It is likewise decreed: Now, indeed, we must treat of the divine Scriptures: what the universal
Catholic Church accepts and what she must shun. The list of the Old Testament begins: Genesis,
one book; Exodus, one book: Leviticus, one book; Numbers, one book; Deuteronomy, one book;
Jesus Nave, one book; of Judges, one book; Ruth, one book; of Kings, four books [First and Second
Books of Kings, Third and Fourth Books of Kings]; Paralipomenon, two books; One Hundred and
Fifty Psalms, one book; of Solomon, three books: Proverbs, one book; Ecclesiastes, one book;
Canticle of Canticles, one book; likewise, Wisdom, one book; Ecclesiasticus (Sirach), one book;  
Likewise, the list of the Prophets: Isaiah, one book; Jeremias, one book; along with Cinoth, that is,
his Lamentations; Ezechiel, one book; Daniel, one book; Osee, one book; Amos, one book; Micheas,
one book; Joel, one book; Abdias, one book; Jonas, one book; Nahum, one book; Habacuc, one
book; Sophonias, one book; Aggeus, one book; Zacharias, one book; Malachias, one book.  
Likewise, the list of histories: Job, one book; Tobias, one book; Esdras, two books; Esther, one
book; Judith, one book; of Maccabees, two books.

Likewise, the list of the Scriptures of the New and Eternal Testament, which the holy and Catholic
Church receives: of the Gospels, one book according to Matthew, one book according to Mark, one
book according to Luke, one book according to John. The Epistles of the Apostle Paul, fourteen in
number:  one to the Romans, two to the Corinthians [First Epistle to the Corinthians and Second
Epistle to the Corinthians], one to the Ephesians, two to the Thessalonians [First Epistle to the
Thessalonians and Second Epistle to the Thessalonians], one to the Galatians, one to the  
Philippians, one to the Colossians, two to Timothy [First Epistle to Timothy and Second Epistle to
Timothy], one to Titus, one to Philemon, one to the Hebrews.

Likewise, one book of the Apocalypse of John. And the Acts of the Apostles, one book.
Likewise, the canonical Epistles, seven in number: of the Apostle Peter, two Epistles [First Epistle of
Peter and Second Epistle of Peter]; of the Apostle James, one Epistle; of the Apostle John, one
Epistle; of the other John, a Presbyter, two Epistles [Second Epistle of John and Third Epistle of
John]; of the Apostle Jude the Zealot, one Epistle. Thus concludes the canon of the New Testament.

Likewise it is decreed: After the announcement of all of these prophetic and evangelic or as well as
apostolic writings which we have listed above as Scriptures, on which, by the grace of God, the
Catholic Church is founded, we have considered that it ought to be announced that although all the
Catholic Churches spread abroad through the world comprise but one bridal chamber of Christ,
nevertheless, the holy Roman Church has been placed at the forefront not by the conciliar decisions
of other Churches, but has received the primacy by the evangelic voice of our Lord and Savior, who
says: "You are Peter, and upon this rock I will build My Church, and the gates of hell will not prevail
against it; and I will give to you the keys of the kingdom of heaven, and whatever you shall have
bound on earth will be bound in heaven, and whatever you shall have loosed on earth shall be loosed
in heaven."

the list of books given by the Council of Rome are the same as we have them today.  Some
of the Books were later combined or titled differently which is why the list may look a little unfamilar
when compared to a modern Bible.
The Catholic Church canonized the Greek Old Testament along with the books of the New Testament at the
Councils of Rome, Hippo, and Carthage.  Below are excerpts from the Councils of Carthage and Rome which
show that it was the Catholic Church who was infallibly guided by the Holy Spirit to decide which books were
to be considered Sacred Scripture.  All protestants unknowingly rely on the infallible authority of the Catholic
Church when they declare that the Bible is the infallible word of God.  If they claim that the Catholic Church
was fallible when it canonized the Books of the Bible then they must also believe that the Bible was subject to
that same fallibility.  After all if the Catholic Church was fallible when it canonized the Bible then how can the
Bible be infallible.  This makes no sense theologically!