The Catholic Holy Days of Obligation are our most important feast days. They are the principal liturgical feasts that honor the
mysteries of the Lord, the Virgin Mary, and the saints. Rejoice! Catholics know that these are the most important days of the
year and of course the best way to celebrate them is to celebrate Holy Mass with all the angels and saints!

On December 13, 1991 the members of the National Conference of Catholic Bishops of the United States of America made
the following general decree concerning holy days of obligation for Latin rite Catholics:

In addition to Sunday, the days to be observed as holy days of obligation in the Latin Rite dioceses of the United States of
America, in conformity with canon 1246, are as follows:

2021 Holy Days of Obligation (Canon 1246, §2)

All Sundays are obligatory for the faithful to participate in the Mass

Friday, January 1, 2021                Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God

Thursday, May 13, 2021               Ascension of Jesus

Sunday, August 15, 2021              Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary
Monday, November 1, 2021         All Saints' Day (transferred to Sunday - October 31st)

Wednesday, December 8, 2021     The Immaculate Conception of The Blessed Virgin Mary

Saturday, December 25, 2021       Christmas        
What are the Holy Days
of Obligation?